Florence Street Artist: Clet

Cover Photo

So I’ve raved about Florence quite a bit on here already, but there was one part of my week that was especially fun for me. It’s no secret that I’m a big fan of street art, and will usually photograph any of it that I see. When I first started walking around the city I kept spotting these funny characters on street signs. I enjoyed that they weren’t especially political or controversial, and were mostly just for laughs. It started becoming a little game for me to try and find as many pieces as I could while exploring Florence.

IMG_0169

Then, early in the week my friend Steph was taking me up to Piazza Michelangelo to check out the view and sketch a bit. On the way there, we ended up stumbling upon the artist’s studio, who we now know as Clet. It was a such a cool space where you could not only buy stickers of the street sign art, but there were also quite a few works in progress like a big junk + wood sculpture in the middle of the room. Peeking at all of the art on the walls and browsing through his prints was really fun. Touring a lot of cities, you tend to keep coming across the same tacky art for sale on the streets, so finding something like this is always really special.

I found quite a few throughout the week! I think that contrast is something I’m drawn towards in both art and architecture, and I especially love how Clet’s work contrasts the ancient architecture of Florence.

IMG_2099

IMG_2108

IMG_2105

IMG_0228

IMG_2104

IMG_2107

IMG_2096

IMG_0132

IMG_0086

IMG_0084

IMG_0083

IMG_0064

IMG_2103

IMG_2101

IMG_2094

IMG_0085

IMG_2106

You can check out more of Clet’s art on his Facebook page or maybe you will spot some in the next city you visit! x. Paige

Leave a comment