Travel Diary: Beautiful Barcelona

cover photo

Oh Barcelona…I wish I was back there right now. After a rainy few days in Madrid [and a very dark Copenhagen winter] we were definitely ready for some sunshine, and boy did we get it. It was a gorgeous two days of exploring Gaudi’s masterpieces and hunting down even more tapas restaurants…we obviously didn’t get our fill of them in Madrid after El Tigre! Note: if you go to Barcelona you HAVE to check out Can Paixano. One of the funnest dining experiences I’ve ever had. We actually went twice!

But back to the architecture, I was really just blown away by Gaudi. The fact that this man designed all of these organic yet structurally sound forms without digital tools blows me away! It was amazing how Barcelona really celebrated his architecture. The city was also just very fun and there were a lot of cool corners to explore. I can’t wait to go back one day and dig a little deeper!

IMG_1984

IMG_3148

IMG_3119

IMG_3134

Of course our #1 must-see in the city was the Sagrada Familia by Gaudi. It was just around the corner from our AirBnB apartment so we would pass by it all the time, which was really cool. I mean, what can I even say about this church? It speaks for itself and leaves me speechless at the same time.

IMG_3245

IMG_3247

IMG_2018

IMG_3232

IMG_3237

Another really fun Gaudi project was Park Guell. We ended up not wanting to pay to get in to the actual built work because it was pretty expensive, but I got all of these great shots just from looking in at in and walking around the park. The park was quite beautifully landscaped with a lot of cool [free] things to explore and was on of my favorite parts of the trip.

Screen Shot 2014-01-23 at 8.46.30 PM

Screen Shot 2014-01-23 at 8.47.19 PM

IMG_3071

Processed with VSCOcam with lv01 preset

The Barcelona Pavilion by Mies van der Rohe was also a must-see. It’s pretty small so we also had some time to take some fun pictures and sketch a bit. It was so cool to experience it at dusk!

IMG_3100

Right next to the pavilion is a big palace converted into an art museum, but the part we enjoyed about it was the killer view. It’s fun to get a great view of a city at both day and night, and we caught this one just as the sun was setting.

IMG_2010

IMG_2006

IMG_3029

A few more of my favorite shots from some modern parts of the city. With such a wide range of old and new buildings, you can see why it’s a place I want to visit again one day!

Where have you explored lately? x. Paige

Leave a comment